News Release

For more information contact: Jesse Borjon, (785) 271-3269

September 12, 2013

Commission Recognizes ATA National Truck Driving Championships Team from Kansas

Topeka, KS - Today, the Commission recognized the 2013 American Trucking Associations' (ATA) National Truck Driving Championships winning team from Kansas. In addition, the Commission recognized individual truck drivers for their placement in the competition.

"The Commission is pleased to recognize eight professional drivers who have demonstrated exemplary performance, representing Kansas with great distinction. Their service to the motor carrier profession, and dedication to keeping our roadways safe, is truly extraordinary," stated Mark Sievers, Chairman, Kansas Corporation Commission.

In order to compete, drivers had to be accident free for the previous 12 months. Drivers were challenged on their knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. The team from Kansas won honors as the highest scoring state team - winning the 2013 National Truck Driving Championships team trophy. This is a first for Kansas, never before has a Kansas team taken home the team trophy.

A complete list of team members and their individual placement follows:

Jeff Davis, Wal-Mart Transportation of Ottawa - Team Member

David Eckles, Jr., Old Dominion Freight Lines of Spring Hill - Team Member

Stanley Gabbard, UPS Freight of Kansas City - Team Member

Gary Harms, Wal-Mart Transportation of Olathe. In addition to being on the Kansas team - Mr. Harms was named the 2013 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion, competing against 422 other truck drivers from all across the United States. He also placed 1st in the Sleeper Berth Class. Mr. Harms has logged 30 years as a driver, with 1.7 million miles behind the wheel. Congratulations!

Dan Jones, Fed Ex Freight of Topeka - Team Member. Mr. Jones also placed 3rd in Straight Truck Class.

David Knight, Wal-Mart Transportation of Ottawa - Team Member.

Don Logan, Fed Ex Freight of Eskridge - Team Member. Mr. Logan was also recognized as a Flatbed Finalist; he had a perfect score on his written exam, and received the Top Vehicle Inspection Award.

Jeff Thompson, Fed Ex Freight of Olathe - Team Member. Mr. Thompson was also recognized as a 3-Axle Finalist, and received a perfect score on his written exam.

The recognition took place at the Commission's regularly scheduled Open Meeting, Thursday, September 12, 11:00 a.m., Kansas Corporation Commission, 1500 SW Arrowhead, First Floor Hearing Room, Topeka, Kansas.


Site Map    |    Accessibility    |    Contact Us